SQC Board of Directors

SQC Board of Directors

SQC is controlled by a Board of Directors responsible for the direction, overall management and administration of the company.

At present the Board of Directors are:

SQC Board January 2021

Andrew Moir Chairman (Independent)

Arable Farmer

Chairman Scottish Government Arable Climate Change Committee

AHDB Cereals Committee

NFUS Cereals Committee


John Hutcheson Vice Chairman (Scottish Agricultural Organisation Society)

Large scale Arable Farmer

Vice Chairman Scottish Agricultural Organisation Society


Professor Fiona Burnett Chair of SQC Technical Advisory (Scottish Rural College (SRUC))

Professor of Crop & Soil Science Scottish Rural College (SRUC)


Alistair Ewan Executive Director (Independent)

Previously Agronomist/Vegetable Specialist & Management

NFUS Committee Member & Various other Industry Technical committees

Previously Director British Growers and Vegetable Technical Committee

Panel Member AHDB Technical Committee


Dr Julian South Director (Maltsters Association of Great Britain)

Executive Director and Cereals specialist Maltsters Association of Great Britain


Dr Peter Nelson Director (Scotch Whisky Association)

Technical Director with Glenmorangie Whisky Distillers & Scotch Whisky Association


Ewan Walker-Munro Director (National Farmers Union of Scotland)

Arable Farmer and NFUS Cereals Committee


Ian Sands Director (National Farmers Union of Scotland)

Arable Farmer & NFUS Cereals Committee


Duncan Downie Director (Agricultural Industries Confederation)

Arable Crop Specialist Agronomist and Advisor


Colin Young Director (Agricultural Industries Confederation)

Specialist in Grain Handling and Livestock nutrition


Struan Cessford Director (Scottish Millers)

Wheat Specialist for the Milling & Manufacturing Industry



Scottish Quality Crops is a company limited by guarantee and the members of the company are: 

National Farmers Union of Scotland;
Agricultural Industries Confederation;
Scottish Flour Millers Association;
Scottish Agricultural Organisation Society;
Maltsters Association of Great Britain;
The Scotch Whisky Association;
The Malt Distillers Association of Scotland and
SRUC (Scottish Agricultural College).

The Scottish Consumer Council is represented on the Board of Acoura and has an open invitation for a representative to attend SQC meetings.